On Leela Alcorn and the Stigmatization of Sexual Identity

The Zephyr Lounge

“Please don’t be sad, it’s for the better. The live I would’ve lived isn’t worth living in… because I’m transgender… I feel like a girl trapped in a boy’s body, and I’ve felt that way ever since I was 4… When I was 14, I learned what transgender meant and cried of happiness… I immediately told my mom, and she reacted extremely negatively, telling me that it was a phase, that I would never truly be a girl, that God doesn’t make mistakes, that I am wrong… My mom started taking me to a therapist, but would only take me to christian therapists, (who were all very biased) so I never actually got the therapy I needed to cure me of my depression. I only got more [C]hristians telling me that I was selfish and wrong and that I should look to God for help…  Although the reaction from my friends was…

View original post 2,282 more words

One thought on “On Leela Alcorn and the Stigmatization of Sexual Identity

  1. Pingback: Don’t Forget To Smile Today | A Mixed Bag

Share your thoughts

