A Prom Queen’s Smile

It has been a while since I have written here, dysphoria and depression took over for most of it, so I didn’t feel as if I had anything much to say. That has been dealt with or is being dealt with. I know what, for most of it, was the root problem and I have done what I need for that to stop happening. I have good friends who I can trust to keep me on that path too.

Simple little things can make a whole world of difference. That is something I have learned in the last few weeks.

This month saw the Silver Anniversary of STGG. This is the transgender support group I coordinate. It is the group that has given me confidence in myself and my abilities and I am proud to be a part of.

To celebrate our anniversary we had a Prom theme. I know the ladies like to dress up and get glam so the opportunity to really go for it was there. Of course, it is traditional to choose a Prom Queen.

Now I see my role within the group as helping others to be what or who they want to be. The transgender journey is a tough one, I know that for myself. But nothing could have prepared me for the reaction of C when I asked her if she would be Prom Queen. That smile not just on her lips but in her eyes will stay with me for a very long time indeed.

C always appears very feminine and elegant, very much a lady and a classy one at that. Don’t get me wrong, all the ladies take a great deal of care over how they look and dress, which as a trans guy who loathed all that fuss I suppose I shouldn’t understand, but I do.

Over the last couple of weeks different people have pointed out how male I am becoming, in a few cases they did not read me as trans at all. I think I now know why that smile in C’s eyes came about as I know how fantastic it can feel. C is a beautiful lady and if something as simple as that can make her feel the million bucks then it’s a pure pleasure for me to have done that. If my words made C’s night, her smile made mine.

 

Photo Used with Permission of C

Photo Used with Permission of C

 

Photo used with permission.

7 thoughts on “A Prom Queen’s Smile

Share your thoughts

