Transfeminism

Androgynous Wisdom

One cannot address the position of women without also addressing their class, race, sexuality, ability and all other aspects of their identity and experiences. — J. Rouge

Struggle: Feminism

Prior to transition, I was a feminist. In so being, I had a fairly simplistic view of the finer facets of personal identity (race, class, sexuality, gender expression, intelligence/education, etc.)

By this, I mean: I’d only ever experienced oppression per ability (cerebral palsy, fibromyalgia, etc.) and biological (perceived, female) sex.

Though I identified as pansexual, polyamorous, and was legally (and monogamously) partnered with a woman, others perceived me (via my gender presentation) as heterosexual and heteronormative. I, of course, didn’t realize this until I no longer had the luxury of benefiting from that assumption.

Lesson: Transfeminism

Once I lost hetero- and gender-normative privileges, I felt like mainstream feminism no longer invited, represented, and included me, so I abandoned it.

More recently–in…

View original post 118 more words

2 thoughts on “Transfeminism

  1. This is the comment that I left on the original post. I thought I’d share it with you too. Also, thanks for visiting The Netherworld.
    A lot of people feel this way about feminism, or at least certain feminists. I identify as a feminist, but I’m very intersectional. I feel that any time people are being oppressed, there’s a need to act, as no-one deserves to feel ostracized.
    My privileges are white, cis-gender, heterosexual.
    The places where I experience prejudice are as a woman who is fat and lives with mental illness.
    I really don’t understand why some feminists exclude transgender people. To me, that doesn’t make sense at all.

    • Makes no sense to me either. i no longer move in feminist circles like I used to, which with the current extremism going on in some places I am glad about. I’ve always believed in equality for all human beings, no ifs or buts, all of us. We all come in to the world the same way, we all leave it in a similar fashion.

      Those who show prejudice to you are the same mindset as those who show it to me – it’s not right and never will be

      regards

      Jez

Share your thoughts

