Hey Boss, I’m a Dude

 

tumblr_n76w9k1ZIF1tbx7hqo1_500

Another issue that can be problematic for the Trans person is work life. How does living out impact on work and working relationships.

As a self-employed person it could be said I never had to come out at work and yes that is somewhat true as I have never had to go through the anxiety of telling my boss or work mates. However I do have an agent, a publisher and people who read my work. Being openly gay as a writer was in fact more of a hindrance and it certainly did not make the process a palatable one.

My agent was none too happy to say the least as he had focused on the ‘lesbian writer’ label. Not something I ever wanted as I feel sexuality, gender and what we do to make a living are all separate things and he knew this. This was my first real encounter with another member of the LGBT being bigoted towards transgender. Needless to say I found another agent who is open-minded and supportive. He is not perfect but then nobody is.

This, of course, highlights another issue – that of bigotry within the LGBT community and also that between the different aspects of transgenderism. Oddly enough that is not covered in the project so I have added it to the list as I think it should be.

My publisher has been wonderful. However she had already read me as Trans when we first met but never said anything. I totally admire her for that as it shows such a good attitude to other human beings. My agent at the time really could not accept my publisher was not backing his argument.

The argument being I would lose readers who were anti transgender. Seriously I have gained more readers than I have lost but a few voiced their opinions of disgust before swearing never to buy my work or read it again. As many of my writings are on the subject of bigotry and human equality it should have surprised me. However, it came as no surprise that some could be that hypocritical demanding for their own rights but willing to deny others theirs. That has been happening since humans started to fight for their rights – some people will give lip-service and say they believe in equal rights but they still need someone to hate on. We see it all the time in the news – if it is not one social group being victimised by the media then it is another and pretty much it is what they think will sell a story. The fact inciting hate can sell a news story is concerning, very concerning. As a journalist myself I would not want to write to feed that animalistic behaviour and refuse to do so. It may cost me the more lucrative opportunities but I would never fail my own principles and stoop that low.

Love and light

Jez

3 thoughts on “Hey Boss, I’m a Dude

  1. Inequality and bigotry within the LGBT community is a lot harder to swallow for me, because we all know what it’s like to be hated for things we cannot control, so it would follow that we would all be more supportive of one another. That being said, there’s a lot of hatred and misunderstanding, even in our ranks, even when we include Transgender in the acronym. I find it really sad that, in 2014, people don’t just accept one another for who they are, who they say they are, and who they wish to be. Hopefully, as we gain more rights as a group, we will all learn to love each other – or, at the very least, to accept one another.

    By the way, thanks for the follow!

    • Thank you Adan and my pleasure to read your own blog. one day hopefully mankind will work it out that we can all coexist. I agree bigotry within LGBT is harder to take because we are all fighting the same battle really.

Share your thoughts

